Arundel 3 v 2 AFC Uckfield Town 17/09/2016

FT - Arundel 3 AFC Uckfield Town 2


Report courtesy of 'The Littlehampton Gazette' Thank you 

Rory Biggs struck a second-half brace as Arundel Football Club edged a five-goal Southern Combination League Premier Division thriller with AFC Uckfield at Mill Road this afternoon. As well as Bigg’s double, which included a thunderous 30-yard volley, Scott Tipper also netted to hand Mullets a 3-2 home victory.

Following a testing start to the league season, collecting just a point from three matches, Arundel’s victory was a second in succession in the Premier Division. After a lively start, Mullets found themselves behind in unfortunate circumstances on 34 minutes. Arundel’s backline failed to defend a ball over the top, with Stefan Joseph taking advantage before seeing a deflected strike find the bottom corner. A well-worked move saw the home side get level just four minutes later. Cameron Elder slid Steve Herbert away down the left and his cross was tapped home by an unmarked Scott Tipper. Mullets found themselves ahead for the first time seven minutes after the break. Steve Herbert’s free-kick was only cleared to Rory Biggs and he thundered home a 30-yard volley to make it 2-1.

AFC Uckfield were back in it with 23 minutes left on the clock, Andrew Dalehouse’s pass was crashed into the top corner thanks to Terry Payne’s first-time strike. Arundel were not to be denied a second league win this season as Rory Biggs got his second four minutes later. Neat work from Steve Herbert saw him pull back for Rory Biggs and he rifled a left-foot strike past Matt Dann in Uckfield’s goal. Arundel were hanging on in the closing stages but managed to hold on for all three points.

Read more at:

1. James Fernandes

2. Pete Butt

3. Cameron Elder

4. Lewis Jenkins

5. Ryan Peake (Capt)

6. Alex Biggs

7. Jordan Jones

8. Rory Biggs (80 mins)

9. Scott Tipper (75 mins)

10. Harry Russell (60 mins)

11. Steve Herbert

12. Josh Biggs (75 mins)

14. Dave Herbert (60 mins)

15. Liam DaCosta

16. Dion Jarvis (80 mins)

17. Ash Hunter

Attendance - 44

Goal Scorers - Scott Tipper, Rory Biggs (2)

Yellow Cards -  Rory Biggs, Harry Russell

Red cards - N/A

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.