Wick 1 v 1 Arundel 26/12/2016


Report Courtesy of Steve Cox (Wick FC Website) Thank you

A rousing Boxing Day clash at Crabtree Park ended in a 1-1 draw, a fair result. Arundel played out the last 20 minutes

with only 9 men after their second straight red card of the game. Dion Jarvis was the first to go after he took the concept

of Boxing Day too literally by throwing a punch at Kieran Playle-Howard after 43 minutes and was subsequently dismissed

for violent conduct. Liam Da Costa had only joined the game after 25 minutes due to an injury sustained by Arundel's ex-Wicker

Ash Hunter. A bad challenge in front of the Wick bench led to Da Costa's red card after 70 minutes.

Being down to 9 men, it was expected that Arundel would have parked the bus, but to their credit they maintained 2 strikers up top and tried to win the game so certainly deserved their point. Wick, undoubtedly, will be frustrated that they couldn't make more of their numerical advantage and win the game but a fifth point from four games maintains 18th place in the table, in touching distance of safety from relegation. Littlehampton's 4-1 win over Worthing Utd pushed them above us in 17th position, Utd dropping to 19th.

Recent signings midfielder Billy Rayner and winger Andy Cox both made their debuts for Wick whilst striker Dan Simmonds was also available at Crabtree Park for the first time this season. Another returnee, Dan Cox was on the bench.

As for the goals, they were both a bit special. On 7 minutes, Shane Brazil, who was causing all sorts of trouble on the left hand side, played the ball into a centrally placed Simmonds 20 yards out, skillfully and clinically lobbed the ball over keeper James Fernandes. Arundel were not to be outdone, and Lee Mottershead, recently acquired from East Preston, equalised 32 minutes later with a similar effort at the other end.

1. James Fernandes

2. Nathan DaCosta (Capt)

3. Ash Hunter (Withdrawn)

4. Pete Butt

5. Jordan Dudas

6. Lee Mottershead

7. Dion Jarvis

8. Alex Biggs 

9. Harry Russell (Withdrawn)

10. Can Tilley

11. Asa Nicholson

12. Lloyd Walker

14. Scott Tipper

15. Barney Boutwood (Used Sub)

16. Spencer Adams

17. Liam DaCosta (Used Sub)

Attendance - TBC

Goal Scorers - Lee Mottershead

Yellow Cards - Ash Hunter, Harry Russell, Alex Biggs

Red cards - Dion Jarvis, Liam DaCosta

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.